Players Who Scored Most Runs in IPL 2016


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is still quite a profitable venture for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) regardless of the passing of many years since its inception. Originally started to counter the commercial threat of similarly formatted private cricketing leagues, the IPL has emerged as a significant contributor to the already cash rich coffers of the BCCI. Despite causing many accusations and allegations of corruption against some of the top cricket officials of this country, IPL is still going quite strong in the eighth year of its inception.

IPL is the brainchild of BCCI’s vice-president Lalit Modi and was started in 2008 with IPL first season. In this league cricketing franchises named after the top cities of India battle it out in a 20-20 cricket tournament. The league has seen a total of 11 franchises this far. Some of the older franchises have been forced closed after massive discrepancies were found in their mode of operation. A total of 5 teams have been suspended from the Indian Premier League this far. They are Chennai, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kochi and Pune. The current cities which have their teams in the league are Kolkata as Kolkata Knight Riders, Bangalore as Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai as Mumbai Indians, Hyderabad as Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mohali as Kings XI Punjab, Delhi as Delhi Daredevils, Chennai as Chennai Super Kings, Pune as Rising Pune Supergiants, and Rajkot as Gujarat Lions. Hyderabad and Pune have new franchises that have replaced their suspended predecessors, Deccan Chargers and Pune Warriors India respectively.

The IPL has always been a haven for batsmen. Due to the field restrictions and batsmen friendly rules of the 20-20 cricket, bowlers generally have to focus on saving runs instead of going for wickets. This has resulted in some brilliant batting performances throughout the history of this premier league. A lot of spectacular batting records have been created in this league since its first season in 2008. This league has also helped launch the international cricketing careers of some players by providing them with a platform to show their skills.

Some great close matches have been seen In the IPL 2016. The list of the highes most run 2016 getters in the tournament is being led by Indian batsmen Virat Kohli as of now. He has scored total 568 runs with an average of 71 in just ten matches. He plays for the team Royal Challengers Bangalore. He is followed by the team Sunrisers Hyderabad’s batsmen David Warner. Warner has got 469 runs in 10 matches with an average of 58.6. Indian batsmen Ajinkya Rahane who plays for the team Rising Pune Supergiants is on the third place with 417 runs in 11 matches and an average of 46.3. Rahane is closely followed by yet another Indian batsmen Rohit Sharma from the team Mumbai Indians. He has a total of 413 runs from 11 matches and has an average of 51.6. Next in the line are Ab De Villiers, Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan and Lokesh Rahul who are from teams Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore again respectively. As there are still a lot of matches to be played in the Premier League there may be some changes in the top scorers list. Virat Kohli can easily be called the best batsmen in the IPL 2016 so far. He has a good strike rate coupled with an unbelievable average. The top run scorer in the tournament is awarded with the orange cap.

The Vivo IPL 2016 heat is on! Support your favourite team and enjoy IPL.

For more interesting articles, read Opennaukri blog, and Download Opennaukri app, to keep yourself updated with upcoming government job alerts.

Leave a Reply !!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.