Digital Initiatives Launched by Government to Promote E-education


Four digital initiatives has been launched by President Pranab Mukherjee to promote e-education. The four initiatives include, National Digital Library, Swayam, National Academic Depository and Swayam Prabha. All the four digital initiatives are operational under the Union Ministry of Human Resource & Development.

Digital Initiatives: Key Facts

National Digital Library: It is big online library that contains about 6.5 million books. This digital library gives free access to several books written in Indian languages and English.

Swayam: It is a massive open online course (MOOC), which will include all the courses that are taught in classrooms from 9th class to post-graduation. Swayam is free to access, anywhere at any time. It has been launched to bridge the digital gap faced by students in e-education.

National Academic Depository (NAD): It is a digital depository of academic awards, which will help authenticate all certificates issued by National institutions. NAD will work with Boards and Universities that issue Certificates and will verify, authenticate, access and retrieve them in a digital depository for purpose of higher education, employment, and loans.

Swayam Prabha: It will provide expert-developed high quality educational contents, through 32 DTH (direct to home) Television Channels. It aims to bring uniformity in education standards. This initiative will cover diverse disciplines of all educational levels in various languages. Under this initiative the 4 hours new content will be telecasted 6 times a day.


Leave a Reply !!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.