Attention UPSC Exam Aspirants


The Union Public Service Commission popularly known as UPSC is a part of central government, which conducts UPSC exam in various disciplines including engineering, defense, and civil services. This organization was founded in the year 1926 to nationalize examinations held in each state. This was done to test the nation’s aspirants on the same platform to pick out the best of the best.

The main examinations held by the UPSC are

The UPSC Exam Syllabus is the very same at the primal level. However, when one starts choosing his or her discipline it varies ever so much. The eligibility criterion for each exam varies from 17 years to 30 years. The entire aforementioned criterions in age eligibility have to be before the end of June.

  1. The Civil Services Examination

The aspirant should be a graduate in any discipline from a recognized university. The UPSC Exam Syllabus though primarily depends on General Knowledge and Mental Ability. In addition, the latter half of the examination depends on the discipline the candidate has chosen. The UPSC exam pattern is divided into three stages, Stage 1 is a Preliminary Test. Once the candidate clears this then he will have to appear from the Main examination and finally a Personality Test and Interview.

Since the candidate will be serving the nation in various aspects it is important that an all rounded preparation is done. UPSC preparation takes time and patience to learn every small detail that shaped the subject and in turn the country at large.

A general quota student will get four attempts while seven years for OBC and an uncountable attempts for SC/ST’s.

  1. The Engineering Service Examination

The aspiring engineering should have a Bachelor’s degree in Science (Physics and Mathematics) in the least; however, a Master’s degree in the same from any recognized University is also welcome. Besides the General Knowledge and Mental Ability Engineering subjects will be touch on more. Therefore, the UPSC exam preparation will highly depend on the engineering part. The UPSC exam pattern is filtered into four stages

  • Paper one, an objective paper will have questions pertaining to General Knowledge and General ability.
  • Paper 2 and 3 are more focused on the Engineering subjects that one takes on.
  • Paper four and five deal with detailed question answers for the same as the above.
  • Finally, a personal interview will remove the wheat from the chaff.

The number of tries remains the same for this too. However, it is mandatory to be an Indian Citizen for appearing in the UPSC exam.

  1. The Combined Defence Services Examination

This UPSC exam is conducted for recruitments of cadets and officers into the Indian Military Academy (IMA), Officers Training Academy (OTA), Indian Naval Academy (INA) and the Indian Air Force Academy (IAF). The UPSC exam preparation for these disciplines not only requires an agile mind but also a very agile and supple body. The IMA a Bachelor’s degree from a recognized university will suffice. However for the IAF, INA and IAF it is mandatory for the aspirant to have a Bachelor’s Degree in Science with Physics and Mathematics as subjects. Engineering students may also apply. The UPSC exam Pattern for the following aspirants are

  • Stage one comprises of a written examination. This comprises of both objective and subjective questions.
  • Stage two is an interview with Service Selection Board.

The UPSC Exam board also conducts examination for the NDA (National Defence Academy). For this, the candidates may need a 10+2 in any subjects for the Army. For the Air Force and the Navy, it is mandatory for the candidate to have a Physics and Mathematics background.

If you’re an aspirant for any of these upcoming examinations it is mandatory to keep checking the website for regular updates in the UPSC exam dates. Even for any further inquiries the website will be very helpful.






Leave a Reply !!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.