Major Indian Civilian Awards Given by Government

Indian Civilian Awards

The power and contribution of citizens of a country towards the nation take it towards development. India honours its valuable citizens with several awards to acknowledge their contribution and efforts.

Indian Civilian Awards given by Government of India

1. Bharat Ratna

It is the highest civilian award in India given for exceptional public service and achievements in the field of science, art, and literature. The award was instituted in the year 1954.

2. Padma Vibhushan

It is the second highest civilian award in India given for distinguished and incomparable service in any field including service rendered by the government servants.

3. Padma Bhushan

It is the third highest civilian award in India to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field. The award was established on January 2, 1954 by the president of India.

4. Padma Shri

It is the fourth highest civilian award in India, which was instituted in 1954. It is awarded to citizens of India in recognition of their exceptional contribution in various spheres including the Education, Science, Public Affairs, Arts, Medicine, Literature etc.

5. Param Vir Chakra  

It is India’s top military decoration, which translates “wheel of the ultimate bravery”. The award is given to military personal for the highest degree of bravery or self–sacrifice in the presence of the enemy.

6. Ashok Chakra

The Ashoka Chakra is highest peacetime military decoration in India, awarded for valor, self-sacrifice or courageous action away from the battlefield.

7. Arjuna Award

The 1961-instituted Arjuna Awards are given by the Indian Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, to recognize exceptional achievement in National sports.

8. Dada Saheb Phalke Awards

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India’s highest award in cinema, given for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema. It is presented annually by Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, at the National Film Awards ceremony. The first Dada Saheb Phalke Award was presented in the year 1969. It was introduced by the Indian government to commemorate the contribution of Dadasaheb Phalke to Indian cinema.

Leave a Reply !!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.